GA Prizes and Medals


Prizes Nominations deadline is normally the 31st January.

The Foulerton Award
Open to Members of the Association, this award is made in recognition of work of merit connected with the Association, and serves to encourage future, as well as to recognize past work.

The Halstead Medal

Open to non-Members and Members of the Association, the Halstead Medal is for work of outstanding merit, deemed to further the objectives of the Association and to promote Geology.

The Richardson Award

Open to Members of the Association for the best research-based paper in each annual volume of the Proceedings of the Geologists' Association.

The Henry Stopes Memorial Fund
A bronze medal (the Henry Stopes Memorial Medal awarded once every 3 years), for work on the Prehistory of Man and his geological environment, to any Member of the Geologists’ Association or other person without restriction as to country or sex, preference being given to non-professionals.


2013 Recipients

The Foulerton Award
Dr John Crocker

Halstead Medal
Graham Worton

Richardson Award
Anna Harrison, J.F.M. Plim, Matthew Harrison, Lee  Jones, Martin Culshaw

2012 Recipients

The Foulerton Award
Professor Richard Moody

Halstead Medal
Professor Chris King

Henry Stopes Medal
Dr Phil Harding

Richardson Award
Peter Hopson.

2011 Recipients

The Foulerton Award
Sarah Stafford for 25 years service to the GA

Halstead Medal
Bob Markham

Richardson Award
Dinah Smith, Jan Zalasiewicz, Mark Williams, Ian Wilkinson, Martin Redding, Crane Begg

2010 Recipients

The Foulerton Award
Professor Bernard Leak for 10 years service as honorary treasurer to the GA

Halstead Medal
Elizabeth Devon for work with the Bath Geological Society

Richardson Award winners
Dr Colin Prosser.