GA Prizes and Medals


Prizes Nominations deadline is normally the 31st January.

The Foulerton Award
Open to Members of the Association, this award is made in recognition of work of merit connected with the Association, and serves to encourage future, as well as to recognize past work.

The Halstead Medal

Open to non-Members and Members of the Association, the Halstead Medal is for work of outstanding merit, deemed to further the objectives of the Association and to promote Geology.

The Halstead Award (new Award for 2016)
Open to non-Members and Members of the Association, the Halstead Award of a certificate and up to £500 will be given to an individual who has made a substantial contribution in any area of geology at an early stage in their career. 

The Richardson Award

Open to Members of the Association for the best research-based paper in each annual volume of the Proceedings of the Geologists' Association.

The Henry Stopes Memorial Fund
A bronze medal (the Henry Stopes Memorial Medal awarded once every 3 years), for work on the Prehistory of Man and his geological environment, to any Member of the Geologists’ Association or other person without restriction as to country or sex, preference being given to non-professionals.


2016 Recipients

The Foulerton Award
Mr Maurice Whiteley

Halstead Medal
Tony Waltham

Halstead Award (new award)
Craig Magee
Tom White

Richardson Award
Adrian Palmer

Callomon Certificate (special award)
Doreen Smith

2015 Recipients

The Foulerton Award
Dr Michael Ridd

Halstead Medal
Dr Peter Oliver

Richardson Award
Bryony Caswell and Angela Coe
For their paper on The impact of anoxia on pelagic macrofauna during the Toarcian Oceanic Anoxic Event (Early Jurassic). 2014. In the Proceedings of the Geologists’ Association Volume 125, 383-391

Henry Stopes Memorial Medal
Dr Simon Lewis

2014 Recipients

The Foulerton Award
Elaine Bimpson
Dr. Tony Barber

Halstead Medal
David Ward (Reading Geological Society)

Richardson Award
Don Aldiss

Previous Prize Recipients

Click here to download a list of previous prize recipients