The Ivor Tupper Fund of the Geologists’ Association

Application deadline: 31st January

An award in memory of G. Ivor F. Tupper, CEng, FIEE, (1927-2008). The fund is designed to give financial assistance – a single award normally of £2000 cash annually – to a deserving undergraduate in their second, third or fourth year at a UK university, studying Geology or Earth Sciences. Additional awards can be made of up to £2000, should funds allow.

The award will be made by the Council of the Geologists’ Association to the student they feel best demonstrates both a genuine commitment to the discipline and academic excellence. Nominations are made by university departments by invitation.

The deadline for applications is 31st January and awardees will be notified by April of the following year.

Nomination forms should be e-mailed by the deadline to or sent by post to the Geologists’ Association, Burlington House, Piccadilly, London, W1J 0DU.

Past Recipients

Lewis Barwell, Derby

Runners Up
Daisy Jennings-Grey, Imperial College, London
Stella Linnekogel, St Andrews
Elizabeth Bates, Newcastle

2017 Winner Penny Wieser, University of Oxford, £2,000; Runners up – Emily Gusterson, Imperial College, London, £1,000, Bennett Haworth, University of Cambridge, £1,000

2016 Jamie Price (MESci Exploration and Resource Geology Cardiff University), £2,000;
James Williams (MESci Geology (International) Cardiff University) £1000

2015 Allan Hollinsworth Glasgow University, Timothy Gregory (Manchester University), Richard Turley (Cambridge University).

2014 Simon Stephenson (Imperial College London)

Helena Pryer (University College London)

2012 Emma Nicholson (Oxford University) Gemma Kerr (St Andrews University)

Hong Chin Ng (University of Bristol)

2010 Emma Naden (Keele University)